OUT OF ORDER
WARNING! DO NOT REMOVE THIS TAG

AGRICULTURAL
COMMISSIONER
WEIGHTS & MEASURES

My station had one or more pumps removed from service and a “red tag” placed on
them...what do | need to do now?

_ — OPTION 1: Contact a registered Service Agency. It is your
UT OF O : responsibility to verify that the Service Agency is registered with the
California Department of Food and Agriculture/Division of
Measurement Standards. A licensed Service Agent employed by a
registered Service Agency can make repairs to a commercial

and Prolessions Code Section 12507

P e e device and place it back into service pending reinspection by the
L o B Sealer. As required by law (California Business and Professions
— —_— Code Section 12515), it is the responsibility of the person having
iy - i —~ made the repairs and/or adjustments to notify our Department

within 24 hours after the repairs and/or adjustments have been
made. This requirement also applies to OPTION 2 below.

A list of registered Service Agencies and licensed Service Agents can be found at
http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/programs/rsa/rsalistings/rsaListings.html

OPTION 2: You can repair and/or adjust the pumps yourself, or use a non-licensed repair person to
make the repairs and/or necessary adjustments. IMPORTANT: ONLY A WEIGHTS & MEASURES
SEALER OR A REGISTERED SERVICE AGENCY CAN REMOVE AN “OUT OF ORDER” TAG
AND PLACE A DEVICE BACK INTO SERVICE. If choosing this option, leave the “Out of Order” tag
on the pump and keep the pump out of service. Contact our Department at (562) 622-0409 and
indicate that the pump(s) have been repaired and are ready to be re-inspected. Whether speaking to
a live person or leaving a voicemail message, please provide the following information: name, brand,
and address of your station. If you know the Inspector’'s name, that would also be very helpful.

We cannot guarantee a time when our Inspector will return for the re-inspection, but it will be made a
priority. Also keep in mind that our normal working hours are Monday-Thursday 7AM-5:30PM.

NOTE: If the Inspector is not contacted or notified within 30 days, he/she will return to re-inspect the
station. If the pumps have been placed back into service, the Inspector will need to verify who made
the repairs and/or adjustments. If you made the repairs and or adjustments or you do not have proof
of who made the repairs and/or adjustments, a Notice of Violation may be issued to the station for
removing a sealer’s tag(s) and for placing the device(s) back into service.



